A little bit more about me

I think a little bit of context might help future visitors to understand just what the hell I am doing.

Let’s start with nationality.

I am a Korean passport holder (The cool Korea), but I have not lived there since I was around 10.

(Congratulations, you are now officially reading an Asian blog.)

Due to my father’s job description, I had to move to Manila, Philippines.

I attended and graduated from an international school, which explains my English.

I enrolled in the Savannah College of Art and Design with keen interest in creative direction and management: their graduate Design Management program was especially appealing to me.

Right now, I am in Korea for the summer, but I will soon be going back to Georgia for my Sophomore year.

Probably, the biggest irony of my blog is that I photograph people and feature their pictures on my blog all the time, and yet I refuse to show my own face. You can assume that I have insecurities about my looks and I take photographs of people that I think look attractive so I can look at the photos I took instead of looking at the mirror. Yeah, let’s go with that.

Unfortunately, as a male Korean citizen, I have a duty to serve my nation for two years. In Korea, military service means being almost completely cut off from the outside world: No cellular phones are allowed, and use of pay phones and paid internet that is screened/censored within the base is very limited.

Luckily for me, my incredibly flat feet has made me unqualified for armed services. Instead, I will be commuting from my parent’s place to a designated government facility, doing administrative work for two years before being relieved of my civic duty. I must attend a 4-week bootcamp at the beginning of my service, but it is still a lot better than the two years in the barracks. Working 40 hours a week with practically no pay is not easy, but I think I will have more than enough opportunities to maintain my blog and on-line social life while I am off college for the two years.

4 thoughts on “A little bit more about me

  1. Great to learn you are a Korean. This guy is a Korean http://aopinionatedman.com/ , and he knows all about blogging:) For the bloggers with under 1000 followers the best way to earn followers is to be truly interested in what they do and who they are. Shortly: visit, read, “like”, comment. Freshly Pressed is the best place to meet the other bloggers:)

Leave a Reply

